Ungrateful

This week is all about giving thanks. And of course, I have much to be thankful for, including a roof over my head, food in the fridge, and the greatest assortment of family and friends a person could ever wish for. I am grateful every day for the kindness, compassion, wisdom and love that is extended to me, and pray that I am reciprocating to each person that holds my hand in this rocky journey we call life.
That said…every pot needs some pepper. If you are on Facebook, and I suspect you may just be, you have probably seen the multitudes of posts each day for the last several weeks, proclaiming gratitude. And yes, yes, we are all grateful for Mother Earth, and the air we breathe, but seriously, isn’t that just a given? An automatic gift with the purchase of life?
I guess I could give you a month of the things I am grateful for, but they are all just going to be expansions of the thoughts expressed in paragraph one, see above. But because there’s a little devil dancing on my shoulder today, I now give to you…5 things I am NOT grateful for. If the concept troubles you, especially in light of our upcoming holiday, feel free to pass and pick me up again next week, where I will resort back to appreciation and gratitude. Here we go:
1. I am not grateful for text messaging. There. I’m sorry, I said it. Call me old school, or just old. Sure, it’s convenient for a quick share of information, but when it takes the place of conversation, I’m out. My fingers don’t work that nimbly, and frankly, I have more to say than can comfortably be conveyed in short sentences. And inevitably, as I am tip typing my response to you, your next flash message comes through, and I lose what I was saying to some unknown nether world known as draft. Why?
2. I am not grateful for the fact that every time I take clean laundry out of the dryer, freshly cleaned clothing falls to the less than pristinely cleaned floor. It irks me.
3. I am not grateful for the truly crappy plumbing (nice one, huh?) in my old, rickety house. Sure, the majestic tree in my front yard is beautiful. But I am just not sure it’s commensurate with having to call a plumber approximately every 30 days to come snake the pipes. This is no exaggeration, in the last 6 months, I have had the plumber here 7 times! Last week I was running the wash, and every water outlet in my house, tub, toilet, sink, washer, gushed forth with water spouts that rivaled Old Faithful. [I am, however, extremely grateful to my plumber, who I have on my speed dial, and who is now giving me the “family discount.”]
4. I am not grateful for hot flashes. Mine or anybody else’s. Enough said.
5. I am not grateful for pasta. I know, I know, I can hear the collective gasp. Frankly, I think it’s a waste of carbs. Don’t eat it, don’t like it. I am not afraid of controversy, I understand EVERYONE else loves it. More for you, I say, more for you.
Okay, I’m done. Phew. That was harder than I thought. Devil on my shoulder or not, I know how blessed and lucky I am. If you are reading this, thank you. It means so much to me, and to those of you who have encouraged me in the endeavor, it’s a great gift. Wishing you all a wonderful Thanksgiving, with a special shout out to Mother Earth. And, the air we breathe.
The end, for now

Leave a Reply

