Five Things

Do you read Us Weekly Magazine? No, of course I don’t either, but this one time, I was waiting in line to buy Scientific American, and I “accidentally” glanced at US Weekly. And I just “happened” to come upon the feature, 25 Things You Don’t Know About Me, wherein some (usually C list) celebrity tells their fascinated readers 25 exciting things they had never revealed before.

Well, there’s no way I am going to tell you 25 things you don’t know about me. For one thing, I’m frankly not that mysterious. My life is an open book. I can’t even think of 25 things about me, known or not. But, let’s be honest here, I was struggling to come up with something to write about this week. Does anyone want to hear about my unemployment again, and how worried I am, and that I feel as if I am standing at the edge of my own personal fiscal cliff, with one leg fully extended out? I didn’t think so. So, I am going to focus on the positive, and write about five things I love.

  1. My Swiffer. What, you ask? You LOVE a household product? Why yes, yes, I do. I always have this sort of secret shame that my house verges on shabbiness. Spending so much time at home these last few months has given me ample opportunity during the daylight hours to see the cobwebs and cracks that conveniently fade away at dusk. There’s something really satisfying, dare I say, thrilling, about pulling the Swiffer around the house, picking up dust, dog hair, etc.  Sometimes I dance with it. And no matter how much cleaning I have done, the Swiffer can always find something and swiff it up. It is a miracle.
  2. Thanksgiving. My favorite holiday! Well, except for my complicated relationship with Christmas, but let’s leave that for another post. Anyway, it’s coming soon! Last night I lulled myself to sleep reading the Bon Appetite Thanksgiving issue and getting progressively excited and hungry. I can’t wait for turkey, stuffing, gravy, sweet potatoes, and don’t forget pie, yum, yum, yum! Oh yes, family and friends gathered together to count our blessings. Did I fail to mention that? But, TURKEY and STUFFING!
  3. Small portions. With the exception of Thanksgiving dinner, where my secret hidden glutton tends to burst out for her annual village pillage, I have a thing that borders on weird about small portion sizes. Actually, it has probably slipped way over the border at this point and may officially be a disorder. Put me on a talk show, I have Small Portion Disorder (SPD).  I sort of freak out when I am served an oversized portion of anything, to the point of getting anxious. One of my favorite foods is simply, appetizer, and in a perfect world, I would go to a restaurant that only served hummingbird portions in little walnut shell cups. I am not exaggerating about this. You would think this would make me a skinny girl, but it has not. Strange, that.
  4. When my Louie Dog yowls. I have mentioned before that Louie is not exactly a cheerful dog. He walks around with a worried expression in his sad eyes, leaving the casual observer to think that his life is a veil of tears and tragedy. But I can always cheer him up, by singing the song My Baby Loves Lovin’ with the word Louie substituted for Baby. First, he will start to grin, that wide wiener grin that is as rare as it is beautiful. And then, he will give this little yippy yowl of happiness. Melts my heart every time.
  5. Driving South through Topanga Canyon. I drive a Mini Cooper, which is much like driving a go-cart. And since I have grown up in Southern California, I know this canyon like the back of my hand, and drive it like a race car driver, speeding around the beautiful curves, until that perfect moment where it spits you out on Pacific Coast Highway. Topanga and PCH, life’s most perfect intersection.

And there you have it. Five things that I love. The sixth is that I managed to meet my personal commitment to blog again, even when I thought I had nothing to say. And, to anyone out there who takes the time to read my posts, please know that I really appreciate it. In fact, I love it. Wow, there goes number seven!

The end, for now

3 responses

  1. You are such a great writer! I have enjoyed every single post.

    1. Thanks Lea, you are a doll! This was my 25th post, 25 posts in 25 weeks! I really appreciate your reading them!

  2. Enjoy them as well!

Leave a Reply

