The Dog Days are Over, or, Happy New Year

The calendar and the thermostat might not agree, but with Labor Day in the rearview mirror and Rosh Hashanah later this week, I am officially calling Summer 2013 over. And, I couldn’t be happier about it!
I’ll definitely remember Summer 2013, even as other summers meld and fade into distant memory. 2013 was the summer I was out of work. 2013 was the summer of the burst appendix. But, 2013 was also the summer where I got to spend special time with my Dad. The summer where I watched multiple 4th of July fireworks going off from my sister’s backyard, laughing like fools as the automatic sprinklers went off and soaked us. The summer I finally got serious again about exercising. The summer I started my blog.
With all that, I am beyond ready to move into the next season, and for the next set of change and shifts on the kaleidoscope to begin. Fall is my favorite season, not just because it holds my birthday and my favorite holiday, Thanksgiving. It’s a cozy season, with homecoming, the new fall TV season, pumpkins, soup, long pants. It’s a do over, a new start.
It is expected to be 103 degrees on Thursday. But, Rosh Hashanah has very evocative sense memories to me, none of which reflect the heat. For whatever reason, I think of plush velvet, perhaps from a dress I wore to services as a child. Warm spices, apples, honey, and cinnamon. Dinners with family, my grandmother’s Taiglach, sweet, sticky, rock hard little bites of goodness.
It would be impossible for me to convey how much I want and need things to change, and change quickly. I have struggled with keeping my morale and perspective facing forward, and there has been some dark trips into the crevasse of despair. But fortunately, there have also been returns to base camp, tugged by the ropes of love and friendship, and also through sheer perseverance. I haven’t given up hope, but I look eagerly for a win. I can feel it is just around the corner.
I don’t have much more to say this week. Some weeks the words come tumbling out, and sometimes it’s a challenge, not just to think of what you want to say, but what you want to share. This blog is not meant to be a diary, and I am conscious of not wanting to expose all of my secrets. I considered not posting anything this week, but I made a commitment to myself to post once a week and I want to honor that.
Coincidentally, I was looking at the comics this week, and one of my favorites, Doonesbury, featured a young man asking his father, a writer, “What do you do when you have nothing to say?” And the father responded with the perfect answer, “I say it anyway.”
So, with that, I leave you. Happy New Year, may it bring all of us courage, love, good fortune and peace.
The End, for now

Leave a Reply

